Getting Out of the Rough Patch

I’ve noticed that when I’m in the middle of a difficult chapter, I start to second guess every freaking aspect of my writing. I want to stop, and ask someone how I should be doing it. I want someone to tell me what to do. But that’s not very helpful in the long run – the only way I can learn to be a better writer, is to push through that awfulness and have someone critique it after it’s written.

One of my biggest concern is that I am using too much dialogue. I get caught up in the conversations between my characters and forget about the world around them. Then I realized that I didn’t need to ask someone if I was using too much dialogue. All I needed to do was pick up a book that is similar to what I am going for and READ IT.

It was a strange epiphany since I already knew that you read to learn how to write (to some degree). So keep this in mind if you hit a particular rough patch. Number one, I’m pretty sure it gets better (still hanging out in that rough patch myself). Number two, you don’t need to rely on others for help – consult your favorite book in the genre you write.

Featured image by Lars Hammar on Flickr.

2 thoughts on “Getting Out of the Rough Patch

Leave a Reply

