The Importance of Guest Posts

Here’s a quick list of why I think guest posts are important. Short, sweet and to the point:

  1. Variety. Yes, this is my blog. But I only have so much experience and I only really have written in one genre (YA). Guest posts can allow different genre tips and general point of view to the whole writing process.
  2. Promotion. Less sparkly for the reader (potentially), more sparkly for the blogger. Getting a post on someone else’s blog helps drive traffic to your own blog (if the reader likes the post, that is). But you know what? It’s also good for the reader. If I read a guest post that I like, that means that I may have just found another great blog to follow. Yay for everyone!
  3. Community. I always like being part of a writer community. Having guest posts from various bloggers that then also host guest posts makes that community stronger. A little of the “If you scratch my back, I’ll scratch yours” type of thing. But then you also have new internet friends that could help you out if you have questions.

That being said, I haven’t had any guest posts here before. Sure, I’ve reblogged posts from others, but that’s not quite the same to me. If you want to share a post on my blog, comment, tweet (@simonislauren) or email me (laurenesimonis [at] gmail [dot] com.)

Feature image by www.literalis.net

Leave a Reply

