When You Don’t Know Where You Are Going

I’ve been flipping back and forth for a week or so about which direction my novel should take. And I haven’t been touching it because of that. I’m starting to think that this isn’t the right way to go about doing things. Because thinking about my novel and where it should go isn’t going to really help me all that much.

So, I have decided that I am just going to start re-writing it in one of the directions (cutting subplot and characters) to see where it ends up. Maybe it will suck and I’ll say to myself “Boy was that not the direction to go in.” Or maybe this will be the direction that it needed to go in after all and things will be magical and I will finally have a finished draft that I am not wanting to scrap and write completely over.

It just seems foolish of me to sit around and not really accomplish anything on the novel. At least writing it one way will feel productive (and at the very least will help my writing to some degree). But I have a feeling this is one of those things where my solution isn’t necessarily the solution for everyone. For all I know, I’m just having writer’s block (although this seems way more painful). I have heard that to cure writer’s block, that you should just write through it, but I have also heard to take a break and do something else.

I think I’ve done “something else” for long enough now. Here’s to writing through it!

Featured image by Prime R. 41 on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

