I’m Officially Not Giving Up on My Novel

There isn’t a “lesson” or “tip” in this blog post, per say. But I don’t think there really needs to be one to begin with. For me, my blog is about my journey as a writer, and if that helps someone else figure something out, that’s wonderful. It really, truly is. (I swear there is no sarcasm here!)

Without further ado, here is my rambling for today.

You know how I said that I was going to take a break from my novel, the one that I have been working on for the past two+ years? Well I don’t think my brain liked that very much. Not. One. Bit.

You know how I discovered that? Well, I’ve been reading Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott and every bit of advice that was given, I kept trying to apply to that novel. And to some degree, I think it helped me figure out where I was getting stuck and what I needed to focus on to get unstuck.

So to answer my question that I had this most recent time when I felt super stuck – no, this novel isn’t something that I should ever give up on because a) I still think it is a great idea and b) it is clearly important enough to me to finish, even if it doesn’t end up getting published or even being read by another human being.

Maybe there is a lesson here. Maybe you shouldn’t give up on something if you love it enough. I don’t know. I’m still trying to figure these things out for myself.

But what I do know is that I was reading a writing advice book and started to figure things out for myself.

Leave a Reply

