When Plot’s Got You Down, Write.

Despite working on my current novel for over two years, it has come to my attention that the plot seems kind of sucky (or rather, that I’ve been focusing on the wrong part of my plot, and by extension including a lot of unnecessary back story).

So, I thought to myself, “what is the real plot of this novel?” and I was a bit lost. I had all these ideas running in my head and I was concerned that if I started moving in one direction, it would be a waste of time and effort.

Here are the things that helped me find my final solution:

  • Writing out my plot to ask for advice. I have a group of fellow writers on Facebook that I trust for advice. So, my first instinct was to ask them to help me out of my plot crisis. As I wrote down what I thought the current plot was, I realized that I was writing it almost as if I was going down this new avenue. So ultimately, it helped solidify that I needed to chop my second POV narrator and to focus on what was ending up to be the latter half of the novel and remove the horrible tumor like beginning.
  • Write a query letter. I’ve been reading Query Shark (this post in particular, and more specifically Nancy Beck’s comment) non stop for the last couple of days and just decided to try and write a query as if my novel was ready right this second. And you know what? It was super awesome and helpful (not that the query was awesome, but the experience). I now have an even tighter focus on my novel and can actually tell people rather briefly what the story is about, rather than going into a long rant like I had done previously.

Moral of the story? Just write more. Instead of letting ideas swim in your head, put them out there. If you try to write them to have someone else understand, you’ll understand what you need to do.

Featured image by OnceAndFutureLaura on Flickr.

Leave a Reply

