Writing Requires More Than Talent

I tend to think I’m a fairly good writer. I don’t mean to “toot my own horn” or anything, but it’s just one of those things that comes naturally for me. But you could be the best writer in the world and still not have everything it takes to be a writer.

The one thing that I struggle with the most is dedication. That sounds silly, I know, because writing is something I desperately want to be able to do professionally, full-time. But that’s the problem I’m having. It’s not what I do professionally and full-time, so I have to dedicate some of my extra time to ensure that that career is something I’m comfortable with, in the event that I can’t get published (which is something I don’t want to accept, ever).

I think once I’ve taken care of a handful of projects I’ve had in mind for myself in my current professional career (digital marketing) then I will have even more additional time to dedicate to writing. But in the meantime, I have to dedicate what time I do have available to writing.

Enough rambling, here is what you should take away: yes,  you can be a writer. EVERYONE CAN BE A WRITER. But you need to keep in mind the dedication it requires. Because after all, this is one of those “work-from-home” type of jobs, and everyone always says they can’t because they are too easily distracted. So turn off your computer’s wifi or even grab a pen and paper and just write!

Featured image by Graham Holliday of Flickr.

3 thoughts on “Writing Requires More Than Talent

  1. This is so true. The hardest part about writing is, well, writing. I remember reading a very successful writer who said, “I hate writing. I love having written.” It’s incredibly rewarding–once you’re done. But to actually start is the hardest part for me, especially when, as you said, one isn’t professional and there aren’t fans and people waiting, ready to engage with your work.

    A lack of engagement is the hardest part for me. I want to know what people think of my stories and blog posts, not just put them up there.

  2. Agree with Christopher above– starting is the hardest part. But I actually find the task quite fun 🙂

    Best of luck finding the time/your regular writing groove! You can do it!

Leave a Reply

