The Road to Revision – Where Do I Begin?

Recently I have had a couple of major realizations with my novel. I basically came to the conclusion that there are more than a couple of major things that need to shift in order for it to be at its best. While it’s great that I know what needs to change, I’m not entirely sure where I start!

Of the things that need changed, I have a major character development that really affects a lot of the novel. I have another couple of issues that are more centered around specific plot points, but may have lingering affects elsewhere.

My first instinct is to just start from the beginning of what I have, and every new scene I dissect it for parts that are affected by my new changes. But is this the right way to go about it? I feel almost like the entire thing needs re-written, but at the same time I know that there are parts that are still good that don’t need to be scrapped.

Is my plan logical? Am I overthinking this process? If you have gone through something similar, I would love your advice!

One thought on “The Road to Revision – Where Do I Begin?

  1. I think I would first work with the changes in the major character development, especially before you go any further. Once you resolve that issue, you will not need to worry about it again as you continue writing.

    Then I would check for the plot points to make sure there is not any disconnect. I think if you start from the very beginning and try to look at everything at once, you may end up changing or losing the important parts that you love and definitely want to keep. When you do your final revision, you will definitely see any plot points that do not fit with previous or future ones.

Leave a Reply

