NaNoWriMo: Pantser or Planner?

In case you were unaware, or were ignoring time slipping by, NaNoWriMo is in a little over than a week. So with that in mind, I want to talk about the two camps of NaNo participants: pantsers and planners.

Basically it comes down to this, do you plan out your novel before November, or do you fly by the seat of your pants? Personally, I do a little bit of both. I like to have a general idea in my head and maybe some conceptualizing of characters, plot, setting, etc. But by no means do I ever have my entire novel outlined before November 1st is here.

I don’t think either way is wrong either. Some people are better at formulating while they write, and others need a bit more of the heavy work done before they can start.

This year, I am trying to be a bit more of a planner. With my goal of writing the entire thing on Twitter (and therefore, publicly) I want to have a better idea of where it is going so my novel is more concrete when it comes out.

So, are you planning this year? Winging it? Do you have a good way to plan? Either way, it doesn’t matter. As long as you try and have fun!

Featured image from Flickr user Monda

Leave a Reply

