November is Around the Corner – Are You In?

Tomorrow is October, meaning NaNoWriMo is only a month away. Are you in? Well you should be. Today there was a Twitter chat about why you should participate. If you are on the fence, I highly recommend checking out some of the advice and awesome reasons why you should participate. If you’d rather hear my take, then stick around.

I did NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) for the first time in 2012. Before that point, I had never written anything close to a novel length of work. The most was a 16,000 word fan fic piece (which I had only just now discovered was actually that long). And that was a chapter by chapter installment that happened sporadically and inconsistently.

Anyway, I pushed myself to finish the 50,000 word goal for that month. And I won! But I realized that I was capable of writing novels. I was capable of my dream. It wasn’t some far off thing, like “If only I could write something long enough to be published…” No. I CAN write something long enough. Now I just have to work on the editing/revising/getting it published part.

So, if you have any hesitations, just hear me out. It doesn’t matter if you haven’t written before. It doesn’t matter if you don’t even think of yourself as a writer. All that matters is ambition and a desire to participate. It doesn’t matter if you don’t finish. You might find that you enjoy it and try again next year. But at least you TRIED.

3 thoughts on “November is Around the Corner – Are You In?

  1. This will be my second year 🙂 I won last year, but got really burned out afterwards which had me leaning towards non-participation this year. But as it happened, I am in a great place with editing last year’s work and an idea I love for this year, so I decided to take the plunge again. And I will be planning this year!

Leave a Reply

