Lauren’s Lessons Learned 5

Welcome once again to Lauren’s Lessons Learned! This week I learned that you just kind of know when something feels right. You know what I’m talking about–when that chapter you’ve been slaying over just feels like it is everything it should be.

Now, I’m not saying I learned what it feels like when things are perfect. Because I know my work isn’t perfect yet, and I don’t expect it to be. But when I love a chapter, I remember exactly why I love writing, and why I aspire to be an author.

Nothing compares to the feeling of reading your own work, and getting sucked into it like you would any other book. It validates that I love what I am doing, and that’s what I care about. Sure, I think it is important to keep in mind what is publishable and all that jazz. But what I want to do is write something I love, because there are people out there just like me who would want to read it.

So when I found that feeling that certain chapters were just right, I noted them and am going to dissect them and figure out why they feel better than others. And once (if) I find that key, I’m going to revisit my not-so-right chapters and make them better.

Leave a Reply

