Where Are the Twitter Chats At?

I’ve been doing some searching for a couple weeks now for some quality Twitter chats for writers, of either general topics or YA topics. But I haven’t seemed to be able to find anything! (If you know of any good ones, let me know in the comments) So, I’ve been thinking of starting my own!

What is a Twitter chat you might ask? For those of you who don’t know, Twitter chats are when people discuss a topic with a specific #hashtag. They have a start and end time with questions spread out during the (usual) hour of chat. Anyone can join the chats as long as they follow along with the correct #hashtag!

Here are some benefits that I think come with a Twitter chat:

  1. Expressing your opinion: You get the opportunity to have a conversation with lots of other people like or unlike you that you would never have the opportunity to do. And if you are like me, you don’t have a huge outlet among friends to be able to talk writing!
  2. Meeting new people: Twitter chats are great because you can find out about a writer who you may have never known about! You can find great new people to follow, or even new authors you need to read.
  3. They are super fun: When I participate in Twitter chats that I am invested in the subject, I always enjoy the hour that they take. I love learning new things and seeing various opinions that exist around topics important to me.
  4. Solving problems: I think that with the right questions and participants, you can even find solutions to problems you are having. With enough people, you can see something in a different light, that actually makes your life much easier.

Have I convinced you about Twitter chats? Do you want to help me set up a monthly chat? Answer my poll and share this with your other writer friends! If you have questions or even suggestions, please leave them in the comments.

 

Featured image courtesy of Flickr user Elijah van der Giessen.

Leave a Reply

