Lauren’s Lessons Learned 4

This has been a crazy week for me. But you know what I learned? I learned that if you are passionate about something, you will make it happen.

Yesterday I posted about having issues finding motivation. And you know what? I am my motivation. Crazy right? But seriously, my passion and desire to be a published author is my motivation. Or at least, it should be. Because anything worth having in life isn’t just handed to you. You have to work for it. And I am going to work the hell out of this novel!

I’ve also realized that this means serious dedication and discipline. Working all the time doesn’t mean I want to “work more” once I’m done. But I need to stop thinking of this as “work.” Because, yeah, it is technically work, but it is so much more than that. It’s my dream and passion. People who follow their passion have sleepless nights and strange schedules, but it is so worth it in the end.

So after all of my learning this week, I pledge to do everything in my power to live out my dream. Does that mean skipping out on hanging out with friends some times? Sure. Does it mean I won’t let Netflix run to the next episode of Say Yes to the Dress? Absolutely.

I saw something on the internet somewhere, and it honestly made me stop in my tracks. I can’t remember where I saw it, or who said it or anything, but it was something along the lines of this: Most successful writers are older adults. I’m in my early 20s. Why can’t I be successful now? So that’s what I am going to do. Be successful NOW.

Leave a Reply

