Let’s Talk About Motivation

If you read my blog, you likely have some desire to be, or already are, a published author. I happen to fall into the first category. But let me tell you something. Working 40 hours a week on top of trying to be a real person (by you know, cooking good meals and having a social life) doesn’t always mean I am motivated to write. Because for me, motivation seems to strike in the most inopportune moments.

Just because I am not motivated doesn’t mean I don’t work on my novel that day. I just want to watch another episode of some trashy show on Netflix instead of writing/editing. But, I force myself to start working on it and I usually find myself spending a good hour to two hours on my novel.

So great, I can get myself to write when I don’t necessarily feel impulsed to do so. But what about those times where I am in the urge to write but can’t because I am at work? I haven’t yet found a way to harness those impulses and use them when I actually have the time to write.

While I have goals for myself (I want to finish this round of edits by the end of September. I want to finish additions by the end of October…) my own deadlines don’t cause motivation. I am motivated when I am inspired.

Basically, I’m stuck when it comes to motivation. I need it when I don’t have it and have it when I can’t use it. If any of you writers out there have any tips or useful advice, I would love to hear it!

4 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About Motivation

  1. Motivation is something we all struggle with. For me, I find that setting a goal of writing two pages per session works. Sometimes it means sitting up late but the discipline makes a difference. Good luck.

  2. I have the same struggle. Sometimes I think it would be better if I didn’t have my day job, but then I realize the pressure to write would even be stronger because I would need the income. I’ve had the most success with getting up a little early and making sure other’s in my family know that I need my alone time. I just don’t always have the creative energy that I need at the end of the day.

  3. I am a published writer but am working on my first novel as well. Back when I was working three jobs, I was often not motivated to write. To reach my goals, I forced myself to write at least two pages a night before bed. That doesn’t always mean I kept that material. I just wanted to stay in the habit of writing everyday. Most successful authors follow his rule. If we wait for inspiration to help us write, we might be 89 by the time we finish.

Leave a Reply

