StumbleUpon – Why You Should Be Using It

So back when I started college, it was cool to sit on StumbleUpon and find random content on the internet to amuse yourself. Well, last week I discovered that it can be useful for getting traffic to your blog.

Here is my testimonial on why you should be using StumbleUpon to promote your blog:

  1. It’s freaking easy. You need an account (free). Once you have that, all you have to do is go to this page on the site and submit the URL to your post. That’s it.
  2. I gained 20 referrals from StumbleUpon in 3 days since using it. Mind you, most of that is to old posts that aren’t usually getting ANY traffic.
  3. It isn’t super time consuming. It takes me all of 30 seconds to add a new post to the site.

But here is one pitfall if you plan on adding ALL of your past posts. You can only submit a certain amount of new pages with the same URL in one day. So it might take you a day or a week depending on how extensive you want your blog represented on StumbleUpon.

And that’s it! Take it as you will, but if you asked me (because of course you did) I would highly recommend it.

edit: I didn’t mention you needed a free account to submit URLs. That is now included in my easy steps.

2 thoughts on “StumbleUpon – Why You Should Be Using It

Leave a Reply

