Love Every Single Word!

I will admit, when I hear words like “selfie” being added to dictionaries, I cringe. But yesterday I have had an epiphany.

I watched this fantastic Ted Talk from Eric McKean about the greatness of digital dictionaries. I suggest you watch it, but here is what I took away from it.

For the longest time, I have viewed dictionaries as containing words with literary merit (which is rather foolish considering some of the words that have been in there for years and years and years). Anyway, so I have now taken the position that every single word has its merits and that dictionaries should include every single crazy word that exists. Because really, a dictionary is just a vessel with all of the words that exist with their definitions.

So from now on, I won’t hate on “selfie” or anything else that I would usually take issue with. Because every word is beautiful in its own way.

Leave a Reply

