Camp NaNoWriMo: Day 1

If you aren’t familiar with Camp NaNoWriMo, let me explain something quick. It isn’t as “strict” as NaNoWriMo is in November. You get to pick your own word count and can be in cabins with cabin mates! It’s very exciting.

That being said, since I am trying out something pretty foreign to me, I elected to choose a smaller word count: 20,000 words. I have no clue how many words my memoir-thing will take, but figured a smaller count was better. I’ve already written 644 words today, which is two shy of my daily goal, according to my camper stats.

Basically I thought Camp NaNoWriMo would give me the push to get back into the writing game since my break after my creative writing thesis. But I am honestly surprised how fun it is to write these memories of my childhood. In my previous post I had questioned how truthful I wanted to be, and I think I had answered it yesterday when I was talking to my roommate about Orange is the New Black. Apparently it is based off a true story, which was written in a book. We were wondering how true the show was to what really happened when I said “It can’t be all real. Real life isn’t entertaining enough.” So as I have been writing my own story, I have been making conscious decisions to leave out “I can’t remember but I think…s” and “From what I remembers” because who cares? If this ever is intended for publishing (which right now is the absolute furthest thing from my mind) it should just be a good, fun story. So that’s what I’m making it. It’s really almost a long blog post about my childhood, which I think is a great tone to go for.

At this point I’m very happy with how things are going. I never thought non-fiction could be so fun!

And to any of you who are also attempting Camp NaNoWriMo this July, good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

