Failing at Writing is Good

I have been writing ever since I can remember. I’ve written silly stories as a child, horrible fan fiction, short stories and my current attempt at novels. But one thing that I have done over and over again is fail. And I’m happy that I have.

One of my favorite quotes ever is from J.K. Rowling:

 

It is impossible to live without failing at something, unless you live so cautiously that you might as well not have lived at all, in which case you have failed by default.

 

I think this highlights very much why I think it’s important to fail at writing. You can’t know who you are as a writer unless you attempt different genres or styles and fail at ones that aren’t you. To me, writing is all an experiment. How do I convey this emotion by this character? Did it work last time? Should it be different this time? What if I tried it this way?

Without being adventurous and willing to put yourself out there, I personally don’t think you can be as successful as you have the potential to be.

My first novel attempt was HORRIBLE. By horrible really I just had no idea how to go about writing a novel. I am on draft three and still need some serious revisions because I am learning through my failures on how this process works best for me.

So if any of you are aspiring writers like I am, or perhaps just stuck in a rut, just try something new and don’t be afraid to fail.

Leave a Reply

