What I Learned from Elizabeth Eulberg

This past Monday I went to a great talk hosted by my university’s Wisconsin Union Directorate Publications Committee as part of LitFest. Speaking about the publishing industry was Elizabeth Eulberg, a Wisconsin Native and published YA author.

Elizabeth Eulberg was simply fantastic. Her humor and down-to-earth charm made the hour go by instantly. While I learned a lot about the publishing industry, I also learned a lot about simply being a writer. The following were some of my main take-aways.signed-book

  • Just start writing. If you think, “I have this great idea for a book” write it. It doesn’t matter if you are experienced or not. Eulberg wasn’t an experienced writer when she sat down to write her first book (on a bet no less). Now she has
  • Always keep on writing. As Eulberg put it, you never know when you are on mile 26 of your marathon of writing. If you push yourself through that next draft or revision, you may just get yourself across that finish line. As someone who was falling into a rut of my own, this was exactly the push I needed to keep on with my WIP.
  • Be careful what you say. I actually wrote about this same thing recently. You never know which publisher, author, agent or even movie director you might anger by tweeting some offhand comment. All of these people could have a hand in your future, and it’s best to keep those sort of negative thoughts to yourself.
  • Be in charge of your online presence. This is important because nowadays, you can search an author and find out a lot about them. I have written about this in the past, that (check out my social media category).

Elizabeth Eulberg was a very inspirational speaker and if you ever get a chance to listen to her, I highly recommend it.I also walked away with four of her five books, all of which she signed. I can’t wait to dive into them. Her most recent book Better Off Friends just came out in February, and I plan on doing a review once I get a chance to read it!

Leave a Reply

