Camp NaNoWriMo: Day 30-Winner!

It’s official, I won Camp NaNoWriMo!

With 50,043 words, I surpassed my goal of 50,000 words (just barely).

I must confess, while I wanted to use all 50,000 words for one work, I ended up using the nearly 6,800 words I dedicated to my scrapped project. The novel I ended up “finishing” was done in its skeletal form, and I didn’t want to go back and edit/revise all ready. Therefore, I used words that I still produced within July for Camp NaNoWriMo to total over 50,000.

While this is my second win, I think it has given me new insight to my writing. For one, I definitely need a decent plan with where the story is going to end. My first NaNo novel still has an ambiguous ending, as I haven’t found a satisfying way to end it. I also have discovered that when I am really in love with an idea, I can run with it easily. I had days where I wrote over 3,000 words simply because I found myself writing without end.

This NaNo novel is something I plan to work on before my first one, as I have a much clearer picture on where its going. That’s not to say that I am ignoring my first, I just have more of a concrete path for this one.

Thanks for keeping up with my updates!

Leave a Reply

