Looking back at NaNoWriMo

It’s been two months since I finished NaNoWriMo. I’ve learned a lot along the way.

  1. I can write a novel. For the longest time, I didn’t think I had it in me. Writing and completing a novel had always been a dream of mine. I always managed to get stuck only a couple chapters, or even less, into the work. Part of me was afraid to think that maybe I was a short story writer, and not a novelist. But finishing NaNoWriMo showed me that yes, I can be the novelist I always wanted to be.
  2. Revising/editing is HARD. I started to look over my novel to make changes. I got only a couple pages into it and got completely overwhelmed. This is one skill I have to teach myself how to do. I don’t have the luxury of taking advice from others in a workshop. The next stage is conquering revisions from myself.
  3. I can improve my writing. I’ll be the first one to tell you, my novel is no where near the perfect writing I want it to be. I may be more critical, as the story is in my head, but I’ve written much better before. I wouldn’t go as far to say that my novel is complete trash, but it needs a lot of work. My parents were asking when they would be able to read it, and I won’t even let them read it yet. And they have to love it.

For now, it’s time to focus my energy on editing/revising. It will be a long time before I will hand over my novel for someone else to read, but I hope to get to that some point in the future.

One thought on “Looking back at NaNoWriMo

  1. I have to say, I agree with everything you said here. I started doing NaNo 4 years ago, and the first year I fell flat on my face, but I’ve finished the past 3 years. I think the first time I completed one was the first time I realized I could do this if I really wanted to, but it was going to be hard work. I self-published my first novel a couple years ago and have been revising other Nano drafts for publishing. Good luck to you on your writing and your editing!

Leave a Reply

